Inharmonious

On a suggestion I decided to give eHarmony a shot. They boast that they are the best in this business and their matching strategy is based completely on personality. Their commercials are rife with wonderful successes. People finding the loves of their lives in tangled mess of cyberspace.

So I signed up and undertook their vast personality test. If you have ever taken a personality test before their is nothing new here. Standard questions ask you to rate various traits from not important to very important or describe yourself ranking from very true to not true. After a half an hour of these kind of questions I was beginning to get irritated… “enough already!” I groaned. So finally getting through it I get excited to see what kind of results I get. The site then takes me to a page that says:

“eHarmony is based upon a complex matching system developed through extensive research with married couples. One of the requirements for successful matching is that participants fall within certain defined profiles. If we find that we will not be able to match a user using these profiles, we feel it is only fair to inform them early in the process.

We are so convinced of the importance of creating compatible matches to help people establish happy, lasting relationships that we sometimes choose not to provide service rather than risk an uncertain match.

Unfortunately, we are not able to make our profiles work for you. Our matching model could not accurately predict with whom you would be best matched. This occurs for about 20% of potential users, so 1 in 5 people simply will not benefit from our service. We hope that you understand, and we regret our inability to provide service for you at this time”

My jaw dropped… and I just stared at the screen. I thought to myself… “oh great… now sites are telling me to go to hell instead of women themselves.” I couldn’t help but take it personally but reviewing the results of my personality test made me wonder even more. It seemed very positive.

So to hell with eHarmony!

Leave a Reply

